Graydon House Books

Graydon House Books is a select hardcover and trade paperback imprint dedicated to publishing book club-worthy women’s fiction with strong commercial appeal. Multifaceted, provocative and original, Graydon House novels are page-turners that range in tone from lighthearted humor to emotional tearjerker, edgy suspense to historical drama.

Graydon House is a boutique destination for both promising new talent and bestselling authors who are looking for an accomplished and attentive publisher who can nurture their talent and build their readership.

Graydon House accepts only agented submissions.

Books We're Excited About

Best Day Ever Best Day Ever

“Chilling, satisfying suspense.” —Good Housekeeping, Best Book of Summer

“Completely addicting… Those who loved The Couple Next Door will want to take note.” —Carol Fitzgerald, Book Reporter

Something Like Happy Something Like Happy

“A special book that will make you laugh through your tears.” —Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

“A great option for fans of Graeme Simsion, Gabrielle Zevin and Marian Keyes.” —Library Journal

House of Shadows House of Shadows

An enthralling historical mystery in the vein of Kate Morton and Philippa Gregory

“A must-read for fans of romantic time-slip novels.” —Historical Novel Society

USA TODAY bestselling author

Perfectly Undone Perfectly Undone

“The most sensational, emotionally raw, and satisfying debut of fall.” —RedBookMag.com

“Packed with rich, lyrical language, heartbreaking secrets, and enticing characters, a family drama appealing to lovers of women’s fiction.” —Booklist

For readers of Karen White and Jennifer Weiner

Before I Let You Go Before I Let You Go

“One of the best books for discussion that I’ve read in years.” —Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of The Stolen Marriage

“A heartbreaking book about an impossible decision. Kelly Rimmer writes with wisdom and compassion about the relationships between sisters [and] captures the agonizing conflict between an addict's best and worst selves.” —Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult, a powerful, ripped-from-the-headlines story about sisterhood and sacrifice

Hot Mess Hot Mess

Sweetbitter meets The Devil Wears Prada

A riveting and provocative novel set in the trendy Chicago restaurant scene

“Bridget Jones…let Emily Belden show you how it’s done in America.” —Jeff Messick, author of Knights of the Shield, on Eighty-Sixed: A Memoir

My Last Love Story My Last Love Story

An evocative novel perfect for a P.S. I Love You readership

“At once heartbreaking, delightful, and completely unexpected. A must-read!” —Sonali Dev, award-winning author of The Bollywood Bride

The Story of Our Lives The Story of Our Lives

Four friends. Twenty years. One powerful secret.

Appeals to the audience of Anne Rivers Siddons, Dorothea Benton Frank and Allison Winn Scotch

A Sunday Times bestselling author

Things To Do When It’s Raining Things To Do When It’s Raining

“An irresistible tribute to first love, second chances and the powerful legacy of the past.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale

An emotional multi-generational novel for Colleen Hoover fans

Acquiring Editors

Susan Swinwood

Susan Swinwood, Editorial Director

Interests: I’ve always been a fan of historical fiction that features prominent female characters, particularly set around the World Wars, but have recently discovered a deep fondness for time-slip novels that marry the best of historical and contemporary story lines. I’d love to add an original take on the classic mystery or gothic fiction to my list, and I’m a sucker for any novel told through journal entries or other forms of correspondence. I also just love a big layered quirky family drama told with wit and charm.

I’d love to find the next… Sarah Jio, Curtis Sittenfeld, Susanna Kearsley, Jane Green.

Bio: A born and bred Torontonian, Susan’s publishing career began with notable Canadian publisher McClelland & Stewart before she joined Harlequin Books where, for the past 15+ years, she’s edited and helped guide the writing careers of a wide array of debut and veteran bestselling authors. She is Editorial Director for Graydon House and HQN Books.

Melanie Fried

Melanie Fried, Editor

Interests: : I acquire book club and upmarket women’s fiction and value a balance of engaging voice and characters with a defined plot and high emotional stakes. I love historical fiction with strong female leads inspired by true figures and typically with 1900s, Gilded Age and American Revolution settings; feel-good contemporary stories and romantic comedies with high-concept hooks; mainstream plots with elements of suspense or mystery; and humorous yet heartfelt family dramas. I have a soft spot for novels that involve New York City, high-society drama, rekindled relationships, campus settings and multicultural themes.

I’d love to find the next… Adriana Trigiani, Melanie Benjamin, Jonathan Tropper, Laura Dave

Bio: A lifelong New Yorker, Melanie Fried began her publishing career at Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster before moving over to Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press, where she worked with a wide range of bestselling and award-winning authors but specialized in upmarket women’s fiction, historical fiction and memoir.

Allison Carroll

Allison Carroll, Editor

Interests: I’m particularly interested in women’s fiction that addresses the realities of dating in a very digital, very global society. Modern day relationship fiction that explores everything from long-distance relationships and cultural/racial barriers and expectations to online dating and the hookup app culture to the darker issues facing women today, such as online trolling and bullying and the disturbing emergence of doxing and revenge porn.

I’m also searching for format-driven fiction—a relationship told through letters, diary entries, email; a story told out of order, a story with an unexplained plot device à la the film Sliding Doors or the phone in Rainbow Rowell’s Landline. Whether it’s a fun, breezy, grin-inducing read or a story that makes me weepy (in a good way!), a modern retelling of a classic story or an unpredictable speculative love story, strong hooks and a commercial voice are a must.

I’d love to find the next… Rainbow Rowell, Graeme Simsion, Elena Ferrante.

Bio: Allison Carroll is a Montana transplant who once upon a time packed all her belongings in a U-Haul and drove cross-country to NYC. Her introduction to publishing began at Dorchester Publishing in 2009 and continued at Macmillan’s Heroes and Heartbreakers. Allison joined the Harlequin family in 2012 and counts several New York Times bestselling authors among the writers she works with.

Brittany Lavery

Brittany Lavery, Assistant Editor

Interests: My personal taste in acquisitions lends itself to three main areas, and if I see these kinds of stories on submission, I’ll drop everything and dive right in. I love snappy, fresh, funny, contemporary voices with relatable protagonists, like The Hating Game, The Assistants, or A Decent Proposal. I also love sprawling family sagas with love stories woven through, like a Penmarric for a new generation, or even something spooky and atmospheric like Rebecca—the story of a deliciously unhinged relationship. My other definite bias is toward the speculative, the truly unconventional love story—for example, The Time Traveler’s Wife or Never Let Me Go. Strong female characters are a must for me!

I’d love to find the next… David Nicholls, Audrey Niffenegger or Jessica Knoll.

Bio: Brittany started her publishing career in 2009 with an internship at The Cooke Agency and moved on to positions at the University of Toronto Press and Penguin Canada, joining Harlequin in 2015. When she doesn’t have her nose in a book, you can find her watching X-Files reruns, running around the soccer field or discussing the finer points of baseball and cheering on her beloved Toronto Blue Jays.

Tahra Seplowin

Tahra Seplowin, Assistant Editor

Interests: Voice is paramount; I want to lose myself in an unforgettable narrative. Manuscripts that take me on an emotional roller coaster—laughing one chapter, sometimes even sobbing the next—are usually the ones that keep me up until three in the morning because I can’t stop reading. High character stakes and a keen awareness of what makes for a compelling emotional journey are key. I also love darker women’s fiction with complicated relationships and the occasional suspenseful twist as well as sweeping historical fiction that pulls me into a foreign experience. I’m actively looking for stories that feature diversity that accurately reflects the world we live in, and Own Voices manuscripts are a top priority.

I’d love to find the next… Liane Moriarty, Kate Morton, Sally Thorne or Sonali Dev

Bio: Tahra Seplowin was born and raised in New York City. She’s worked at the Jane Rotrosen Agency, Entangled Publishing and is now with Harlequin. She’s actively looking to acquire fresh new voices in commercial trade fiction.

For Publicity and PR queries, please contact:

Michelle Renaud, Director, Publicity

Michelle.Renaud@HarperCollins.com

For Subsidiary Rights queries, please contact:

Reka Rubin, Director, Subsidiary Rights and Harlequin Audio

Reka.Rubin@HarperCollins.com

Readers! Looking for more information on books from Graydon House Books?

Visit BookClubbish.com for title information, book club guides, and more!

Graydon House Books New York: 195 Broadway, 24th Floor, New York, NY 10007

Graydon House Books Toronto: 225 Duncan Mill Rd., Toronto ON M3B 3K9