Books We're Excited About

The Favorite Daughter
  • “A chilling glimpse behind the façade of the perfect family that leaves you wanting more.” —Liv Constantine, author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
  • “A smart, wickedly plotted psychological thriller brimming with dark surprises.” —Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Alfred Hitchcock meets Patricia Highsmith in this masterful novel of psychological suspense.” —A.J. Banner, USA TODAY bestselling author
The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton
  • Already a Sunday Times bestseller in the UK and a #1 book in Canada, this sharply suspenseful debut is primed for big success in the U.S.
  • “So addictive it should come with a warning.” —Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie
The Things We Cannot Say
  • Worldwide and USA TODAY bestselling author of five novels, including Before I Let You Go
  • “Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale
  • “Kelly Rimmer has raised the already high bar with this unforgettable novel. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” —Bestselling author Sally Hepworth
Summer Hours Summer Hours
  • This much-anticipated follow-up from the bestselling author of The Summer List is a feminist twist on The Graduate
  • “Engaging and nostalgic. Doan’s writing sweeps you away.” —Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient
  • “A beautifully crafted story of love, ambition, and friendship.” —Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Forever Summer
Before I Let You Go
  • “A brilliantly written, moving homage to the power of words.” —Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop
  • “Mesmerizing.” —Booklist starred review
  • “Enchanting, intriguing, deeply moving.” —Irish Times
The Widow of Pale Harbor
  • From the author of the buzzed-about The Witch of Willow Hall, an atmospheric piece of historical fiction about a minister who takes a position in a small Maine town plagued by strange occurrences that resemble the stories of Edgar Allan Poe, and the woman—rumored to be a witch and a murderer—presumed to be behind them.
  • “A creepy estate, juicy scandal, family secrets, ghosts and a handsome yet mysterious suitor make this a satisfying and quietly foreboding tale.”—BookPage
  • “Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror…perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton.” —Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby mysteries
The Summer Cottage
  • The breakout novel from the beloved and bestselling author of The Charm Bracelet
  • “Every now and then a new voice in fiction arrives to completely charm, entertain and remind us what matters. Viola Shipman is that voice and The Summer Cottage is that absolutely irresistible and necessary novel.” —Dorothea Benton Frank, New York Times bestselling author
How to Hack a Heartbreak
  • A whip-smart rom-com for the right-swipe generation
  • “Smart, fun, fast-paced. Rockaway seamlessly blends the trials of modern dating with the challenges of being a woman in a male-dominated workplace.”—Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient
  • “Rockaway has masterfully painted the current dating landscape so many are navigating these days.” —Renée Carlino, USA TODAY bestselling author of Blind Kiss
See our full catalog »

Acquiring Editors

Susan Swinwood

Susan Swinwood Editorial Director

Interests: I’ve always been a fan of historical fiction that features prominent female characters, particularly set around the World Wars, but have recently discovered a deep fondness for time-slip novels that marry the best of historical and contemporary story lines. I’d love to add an original take on the classic mystery or gothic fiction to my list, and I’m a sucker for any novel told through journal entries or other forms of correspondence. I also just love a big layered quirky family drama told with wit and charm.

I’d love to find the next… Maeve Binchy, Curtis Sittenfeld, Susanna Kearsley, Jane Green.

Bio: A born and bred Torontonian, Susan’s publishing career began with notable Canadian publisher McClelland & Stewart before she joined Harlequin Books where, for the past 15+ years, she’s edited and helped guide the writing careers of a wide array of debut and veteran bestselling authors. She is Editorial Director for Graydon House and HQN Books.

Michele Bidelspach

Michele Bidelspach Executive Editor, HQN and Graydon House

My weaknesses are a strong voice, unique hook, and unforgettable characters and I gravitate towards them like a moth to a flame. I’m particularly interested in mainstream fiction about the complicated bonds of family and friendship and the complexities of marriage, especially when told with wit and emotional depth. Heartwrenching love stories and feel-good romantic comedies are my soft spot and for me, there’s nothing better than getting swept up in lush historical novels, particularly those featuring strong female characters with a unique twist. As for my wish list, I’d love to find a big, beautiful, heartfelt book about the struggles that immigrant families face in the modern world.

I’d love to find the next: Kristin Hannah, Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, Sonali Dev, J. Courtney Sullivan.

Bio: Born and raised in Virginia, Michele began her publishing career at Grand Central Publishing (then Warner Books) where she acquired women’s fiction and romance for 15+ years. She joined Harlequin Books in 2018. Throughout her career, she’s had the privilege of working with amazing authors, both bestselling and debut alike.

Melanie Fried

Melanie Fried Editor

Interests: I acquire book club and upmarket women’s fiction and value a balance of engaging voice, complex characters, defined or high-concept plot, and high emotional stakes. I’m always on the look-out for stories that explore universal themes in a nuanced, fresh way and for thoughtful, escapist writing that offers a new worldview.

I love historical fiction with strong female leads inspired by true figures and typically with 1900s, Gilded Age and American Revolution settings; feel-good contemporary stories and romantic comedies with unforgettable characters; mainstream plots with elements of suspense or mystery or with a speculative twist; humorous yet heartfelt family dramas; and multi-generational sagas. I have a soft spot for novels that involve New York City, high-society drama, campus settings, immigrant tales and multicultural themes.

I’d love to find the next… Alice Hoffman, Laura Dave, Beatriz Williams, Jessica Knoll.

Bio: A lifelong New Yorker, Melanie Fried began her publishing career at Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster before moving over to Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press, where she worked with a wide range of bestselling and award-winning authors but specialized in upmarket women’s fiction, historical fiction and memoir.

Allison Carroll

Allison Carroll Editor

Interests: I’m particularly interested in women’s fiction that addresses the realities of dating in a very digital, very global society. Modern day relationship fiction that explores everything from long-distance relationships and cultural/racial barriers and expectations to online dating and the hookup app culture to the darker issues facing women today, such as online trolling and bullying and the disturbing emergence of doxing and revenge porn.

I’m also searching for format-driven fiction
—a relationship told through letters, diary entries, email; a story told out of order, a story with an unexplained plot device à la the film Sliding Doors or the phone in Rainbow Rowell’s Landline. Whether it’s a fun, breezy, grin-inducing read or a story that makes me weepy (in a good way!), a modern retelling of a classic story or an unpredictable speculative love story, strong hooks and a commercial voice are a must.

I’d love to find the next… Rainbow Rowell, Graeme Simsion, Elena Ferrante.

Bio: Allison Carroll is a Montana transplant who once upon a time packed all her belongings in a U-Haul and drove cross-country to NYC. Her introduction to publishing began at Dorchester Publishing in 2009 and continued at Macmillan’s Heroes and Heartbreakers. Allison joined the Harlequin family in 2012 and counts several New York Times bestselling authors among the writers she works with.

Brittany Lavery

Brittany Lavery Associate Editor

Interests: I read broadly for work and for pleasure, and I’m open to anything with a big, commercial hook, strong female characters and squarely hits that upmarket book club audience. I’m on the hunt for Own Voices submissions, particularly LGBTQ+ stories; I love a good family drama, and anything set in New York (Gilded Age and the 70s are favorite NYC decades). I’d love to find an historical novel that tackles something most people don’t know about—like previously ignored women’s/POC’s role in a given historical event. Things I love that would work for Graydon House: Seating Arrangements, The Alice Network, The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, The Time Traveler’s Wife, and anything by Kate Morton.

I’d love to find the next… Audrey Niffenegger, Kate Morton, Chelsey Johnson, Maggie Shipstead.

Bio: Brittany started her publishing career in 2009 with an internship at The Cooke Agency and moved on to positions at the University of Toronto Press and Penguin Canada, joining Harlequin in 2015. When she doesn’t have her nose in a book, you can find her watching X-Files reruns, running around the soccer field or discussing the finer points of baseball and cheering on her beloved Toronto Blue Jays.

For Publicity and PR queries, please contact:

Lisa Wray Manager, Publicity

Lisa.Wray@harpercollins.com

For Subsidiary Rights queries, please contact:

Reka Rubin Director, Subsidiary Rights and Harlequin Audio

Reka.Rubin@HarperCollins.com

Readers! Looking for more information on books from Graydon House Books?

Visit BookClubbish.com for title information, book club guides, and more!